PREVIOUS RECIPIENTS OF PGA'S DEFENDER OF DEMOCRACY AWARD

The Hon. Kristina Svensson, Member of Parliament, Sweden (1996)

The Hon. Léonce Ngendakumana President, National Assembly; MP (Burundi) (1996)

H.E. Arthur N.R. Robinson, President, Republic of Trinidad and Tobago (1997)

H.E. Jan P. Pronk, Minister of Development Cooperation, (The Netherlands) (1997)

> **Prof. M. Cherif Bassiouni** Director, International Criminal Justice & Weapons Control Center, DePaul University (1998)

Ms. Charity Kaluki Ngilu, MP (Kenya) On behalf of the Multi-Party Group in Kenya (1998)

The Late Hon. Bella S. Abzug,* Co-founder and President, Women's Environment and Development Organization (1998) *Awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award

> Mr. John Hume, MP, MEP (Northern Ireland) (1999)

Dr. Hanan Mikhail-Ashrawi, Founder of the Palestinian Initiative for the Promotion of Global Dialogue and Democracy (1999)

Sra. Estela Barnes de Carlotto, (Argentina) On behalf of Las Abuelas de Plaza de Mayo (2000)

H.E. Dr. Ernesto Zedillo Ponce de Leon, (Mexico) President (2000)

> **Mr. Dipak Patel (Zambia)** Member of Parliament, Zambia (2001)

H.E. Kim Dae-jung (Republic of Korea) President (2001)

H.E. Mr. Philippe Kirsch (Canada) President of the International Criminal Court (2002)

Mr. Lakhdar Brahimi

Special Representative of the UN Secretary-General for Afghanistan (2002)

H.E. Mr. George Papandreou (Greece)

Foreign Minister (2003)

Dr. Chee Soon Juan (Singapore) Secretary-General, Singapore Democratic Party (2003)

> **Rt. Hon. Helen Clark (New Zealand)** Prime Minister (2004)

Mrs. Mary Robinson (Ireland) (2005) President of Ireland (1990-1997) UN. High Commission for Human Rights (1997-2002)

> **Mrs. Yukika Sohma (Japan)** Humanitarian and Activist (2006)

Dr. Nafis Sadik (Pakistan) Special Adviser to the UN Secretary-General and Special Envoy for HIV/AIDS in Asia and the Pacific (2006)

> H.E. Ellen Johnson Sirleaf (Liberia) President of Liberia (2007)

Senator Ken Nnamani (Nigeria) Former Senate President of Nigeria (2007)

H.E. Mr. Leonel Antonio Fernandez Reyna (Dominican Republic) President of the Dominican Republic (2008)

> **Rt. Hon. Don McKinnon (New Zealand)** Former Secretary-General of the Commonwealth (2008)

Mr. Kailash Satyarthi (India) Founder/Chair of the Global March Against Child Labor (2009)

Ch. Aitzaz Ahsan (Pakistan) Barrister-at-Law, Senior Advocate Supreme Court (2009)

Prof. Dr. Feride Acar (Turkey) Professor, Middle East Technical University in Ankara (2010) Member of the UN Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW)

Ms. Belgica Mirabal (Doña Dedé) (Dominican Republic)

Chairwoman of the Hermanas Mirabal Foundation (2010)

H.E. Dr. Ernest Bai Koroma (Sierra Leone) President of The Republic of Sierra Leone (2011)

Sister Simone Campbell (United States) Executive Director, NETWORK (2012)

Ms. Khady Koita (Senegal/Belgium) President, La PALABRE (2012)

Ms. Teesta Setalvad (India)

Human Rights Activist 2004 Award Presented in 2012