PARLIAMENTARIANS FOR GLOBAL ACTION ACTION MONDIALE DES PARLEMENTAIRES ACCIÓN MUNDIAL DE PARLAMENTARIOS European Parliament Group

THE INTERNATIONAL CRIMINAL COURT AND THE EUROPEAN UNION Challenges for the Promotion of International Justice and the Fight against Impunity European Parliament, Brussels – *Room* A5G-2 15 October 2009

Agenda and List of Participants

13:15	Welcome Remarks on behalf of the PGA Group in the European Parliament Mr. Jo Leinen, MEP (Germany), PGA Group, European Parliament Prof. Vittorio Prodi, MEP (Italy), PGA Group, European Parliament
13:25	<i>Opening Remarks</i> Sen. Bassey Ewa-Henshaw (Nigeria), President, Parliamentarians for Global Action
13:30	<i>Key-note address</i> H.E. Judge Sang-Hyun Song, President of the International Criminal Court
14:00	Statement of the Swedish Presidency of the European Union Ms. Elinor Hammarskjöld, Deputy Director General, Head of the Department for International Law, Human Rights and Treaty Law, Ministry for Foreign Affairs
14:10-15:00	Open discussion
	<u>is for discussion by MEPs</u>
I. In	npact of the ICC case against the President of Sudan on peace process in Darfur and on

- deterring or reducing the scale of atrocities in the Darfur conflict
 II. Impact of ICC interventions in Democratic Republic of the Congo, Uganda and Central African Republic, as well as in Kenya, Colombia and other situations
- III. Mainstreaming the efforts of the European Union to promote the universality and effectiveness of the Rome Statute of the ICC, including in transatlantic relations
- IV. Ensuring the adoption of effective implementing legislation of the Rome Statute in all EU Member States and facilitating cooperation between the EU and the ICC in the enforcement of pending arrest warrants and regarding other forms of cooperation
- V. Reinforcing the role of the European Parliament in support of the fight against impunity for genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes
- VI. Challenges ahead the first Review Conference of the Rome Statute (Kampala, May-June 2010): crime of aggression, article 124 and stocktaking of international justice

VII. EU strategies to include support for the ICC and the Rule of Law in Transatlantic Relations and in North-South Relations (APC-EU)

PARTICIPANTS INTERNATIONAL CRIMINAL COURT (ICC)

1. H.E. Judge Sang-Hyun Song President of the International Criminal Court 3. Mr. Eric Witte Advisor on External Relations, ICC Presidency

2. Ms. Lousewies van der Laan Chef du Cabinet, ICC Presidency - former MP and MEP (Netherlands)

MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT

Senate of Nigeria 4. Sen. Bassey Ewa-Henshaw President of the Executive Committee; Parliamentarians for Global Action (PGA)

MEMBERS OF THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT

5. Ms. Ana Gomes (Portugal - Progressive Alliance of Socialists & Democrats [S&D]) Committee on Foreign Affairs / Subcommittee on Human Rights

- 6. Ms. Heidi Hautala (Finland-Greens) Chair, Subcommittee on Human Rights
- 7. Mr. Jo Leien (Germany- S&D) Chair, Committee on Environment

8. Ms. Barbara Lochbihler (Germany-Greens) Chair, Relations with Iran / Subcommittee on Human Rights

9. Ms. Kristiina Ojuland (Estonia-Liberals) EU-Russia Parliamentary Committee

10. Prof. Vittorio Prodi (Italy- S&D) Subcommittee on Human Rights

11. Ms. Marietje Schaake (Netherlands-Liberals) *Relations with the US / Foreign Affairs Committee*

OFFICES OF MEMBERS OF THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT

- Off. Liam Aylward, MEP (Ireland-Liberal) 12. Mr. Adrian O'Higgins
- Off. Daniel Cohn-Bendit, MEP (France-Green) 13. Ms. Maria Wichmann
- Off. Michael Cramer, MEP (Germany-Green) 14. Ms. Marie Achenbach
- Off. Brian Crowley, MEP (Ireland-Liberal) 15. Mr. Con Creedon
- Off. Lena Ek, MEP (Sweden-Liberal) 16. Mr. Kristian Lisagblend 17. Mr. Mikael Ekman
- Off. Proinsias de Rossa, MEP (Ireland- S&D) 18. Mr. Mario de Sá 19. Mr. Paraic Ross
- Off. Luis de Grandes, MEP (Spain-European Peoples' Party [EPP] – Christian Dem.) 20. Ms. Ines Rubio
- Off. Filip Kaczmartek, MEP (Poland-EPP) 21. Ms. Sylvia Tyrov
- Off. Pavel Kowal, MEP (Poland-ECC) 22. Mr. Pawel Bielecki
- Off. Jo Leinen, MEP (Germany- S&D) 23. Mr. Bastian Hahnen

- Off. Barbara Lochbihler, MEP (Germany-Greens) 24. Mr. Ali Al Nasoni
- Off. Prof. Hans Peter Mayer, MEP (Germany-EPP) 25. Mr. Sebastian Schulte-Derne 26. Mr. Jan Wreesmann
- Off. Ms. Norica Nicolai, MEP (Romania-Liberal) 27. Ms. Alexandra Johari
- Off. Vittorio Prodi, MEP (Italy- S&D) 28. Mr. Michael Andrews
- Off. Helmut Scholz, MEP (Germany-United Left) 29. Mr. Marcus Ling
- Off. Francesco Speroni, MEP (Italy-Freedom & Dem.)
 - 30. Ms. Eleonora Archetti
- Others
 - 31. Mr. Dirk Gotink
 - 32. Ms. Laura Surano
 - 33. Ms. Emily Tillberg
 - 34. Ms. Lei Zhang

35. Ms. Armelle Douaud

DG External Policies, Unit for Relations with Africa, the Caribbean & the Pacific (ACP)

36. Mr. Geoffrey Harris Head, Human Rights Unit, EP (Subcommittee on Human Rights)

37. Ms. Zsuzsanna Kiss Officer, Human Rights Unit, EP

38. Ms. Michela Costa Subcommittee on Human Rights

39. Mr. Raphael Gellert Subcommittee on Human Rights

40. Ms. Alessandra Cavallini

41. Mr. Timothy Armitey

EUROPEAN UNION MEMBER STATES AND EUROPEAN COMMISSION

42. Ms. Elinor Hammarskjöld Deputy Director General, Head of the Department for International Law, Human Rights and Treaty Law, Ministry for Foreign Affairs, Sweden, Presidency of the EU

43. Mr. Fredrik Nivaeus *Focal Point ICC, Ministry for Foreign Affairs, Sweden Presidency of the EU*

44. Ms. Beatrice Gianani *Permanent Representative of the Italian Senate to the European Union*

45. Ms. Valerie Delcroix Attaché, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Belgium

46. Mr. Jonas Périlleux *Ministry of Justice, Belgium* **47. Mr. Rafael de Bustamante Tello** Council of the European Union, DG E IV United Nations and International Criminal Court (Focal Point ICC)

48. Mr. Michal Golabek European Commission, DG RELEX (ICC)

49. **Ms. Helena Lagerlof** *European Commission, European Instrument for Democracy and Human Rights*

50. Ms. Andreea Pavel European Commission, AIDCo F2

51. Mr. Stijn Houben *European Commission, EuropeAid (EIDHR-ICC projects)*

CIVIL SOCIETY

52. Avv. Luisa Mascia European Coordinator, Secretariat of the Coalition for the International Criminal Court

53. Ms. Francesca Boniotti *Director General, Avocats sans Frontieres*

54. Ms. Geraldine Mattioli Director of Advocacy, Human Rights Watch

55. Ms. Greta Barbone *No Peace Without Justice* 56. Ms. Åsa Rydberg van der Sluis Project Coordinator, Universal Jurisdiction, FIDH-REDRESS

57. Mr. Neil Macdonald *Coalition for the ICC, Brussels Office*

58. Mr. Paolo Petrini Gruppo Volontariato Civile, Bologna

59. Ms. Cecilia Roselli Gruppo Volontariato Civile, Bologna

ORGANISING COMMITTEE – PGA GROUP AT THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT 60. Ms. Kristin Larsson, Office of Ms. Ek 61. Ms. Sandra Parthie, Assistant to Mr. Leinen 62. Drs. Oriana Grasso, Assistant to Mr. Prodi

PGA INTERNATIONAL LAW AND HUMAN RIGHTS PROGRAMME

63. Dr. David Donat Cattin *Director*

64. Ms. Deborah Ruiz-Verduzco Senior Programme Officer, The Hague

The PGA ICC Campaign receives the support of the European Commission, the Governments of Belgium, The Netherlands and Switzerland, and of the Congress of the Dominican Republic. PGA receives core support from the Governments of Denmark, Sweden, Nigeria and the Municipality of The Hague.