Parliamentarians for Global Action

Strategy Session

Role of Parliamentarians in addressing the Rights of Persons with Disabilities

May 8, 2009

Permanent Mission of Sweden to the United Nations

List of Participants

International Participants: International Disabilities Alliance (IDA)

Bahrain Mr. Khalil Al-Marzooq, MP Ms. Venus Ilagan

Canada Sen. Raynell Andreychuk Mr. Morgan Welebir

Ireland Mr. M.J. Nolan, MP Secretariat for the Convention on the Rights of

Persons with Disabilities/UN Focal Point on

United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA):

Nigeria Sen. Bassey Ewa-Henshaw Disabilities, DESA:

Pakistan Hon. Naveed Qamar, MP Ms. Akiko Ito

Chief

Ms. Luz Angela Melo

PGA Secretariat:

Ms. Shazia Rafi

Secretary General

Ms. Helen Vasilopoulos

Senior Development Officer

Pakistan Dr. Donya Aziz, MP

Sierra Leone Mr. Ibrahim Sorie, MP

Suriname Dr. Ruth Wijdenbosch, MP Human Rights Technical Adviser

Sweden Mr. Kent Olsson, MP Ms. Nobuko Takahashi

Parliamentary/NGO Public Affairs Specialist

Sweden Ms. Marie Norden, MP

Uganda Ms. Ruth Tuma, MP

Permanent Mission of Sweden to the United

Nations:

Ms. Paras Vyas Mr. Harald Fries Program Officer

Minister, Economic and Social Affairs

NYS Disabilities Advocacy Association & Network

(NYSDAAN):

Ms. Kathryn Cappella Dr. David Donat-Cattin
Director, International Law

Executive Director

Ms. Stephanie Kueng

JFK, Jr. Institute for Worker Education, CUNY: Program Associate, International Law

Dr. Mariette J. Bates Ms. Anne Jonas

Academic Director of Disability Studies Programs Consultant