Parliamentarians for Global Action Acción Mundial de Parlamentarios Action Mondiale des Parlementaires

## Parliamentary Seminar on HIV Policy in collaboration with the Constituent Assembly of Nepal

Kathmandu, Nepal, 24 - 26 February 2009

Held in Collaboration with:

Parliament of Nepal and PGA-Nepal National Group

With Kind Support from:

United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA) Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC) UNAIDS – Nepal, Pakistan, Bangladesh

and Core Support from:

Royal Foreign Ministry of Denmark (DANIDA) Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency (Sida)

### Tuesday, 24 February

Morning	Arrival at Radisson Hotel (international participants only)
14.00	Transport departs Radisson Hotel (international participants only)
14.45	Participants arrive at Hotel de l'Annapurna
15.00	Inauguration – traditional lighting of the lamp
	Welcome Address Sen Bassey Ewa-Henshaw (Nigeria) PGA President
	Opening Address Hon Subash Chandra Nembang, MP Chair, Constituent Assembly of Nepal
	Opening Remarks Gillian Mellsop Vice-Chair, UN Theme Group on AIDS and UNICEF Country Representative
	Launch of the Report of the Independent Commission on AIDS in Asia Dr Mahmuda Islam (Bangladesh) Commission Member
	Address by Chief Guest Hon Pushpa Kamal Dahal, MP (Nepal) Prime Minister
	Vote of Thanks Mrs Prativa Rana, MP (Nepal) Chair, PGA-Nepal Organising Committee
16.55	Group photograph
17.00	High tea
18.00	Return to hotel (international participants only)
19.00	Dinner for international participants at Babar Mahal Revisited 'Bithak' Hosted by Hon Pashupati S Rana (Former Minister and PGA Member, President of Rastriya Prajatantra Party)

### Wednesday, 25 February

09.30 - 11.00	Session 1: HIV in Nepal and the Global Context
	Chair: Mrs Prativa Rana, MP (Nepal)

• The current situation - nationally, regionally and internationally

	• IPCI/ICPD
	Dr Ma. Elena G. Filio-Borromeo – UNAIDS Country Coordinator Mr Ian McFarlane – UNFPA Representative Dr Donya Aziz, MP (Pakistan) Ms Ruth Tuma, MP (Uganda)
11.00 - 11.15	Tea/Coffee Break
11.15	<b>Session 2:</b> The Need for Political and Parliamentary Leadership Chair: Hon. MLAM Hizbullah, Provincial Health Minister (Sri Lanka)
	<ul> <li>Addressing stigma and discrimination</li> <li>Protecting human rights</li> <li>Children and AIDS in Nepal</li> </ul>
	Ms Rupa Joshi – UNICEF Mr Sunil Babu Pant, MP (Nepal) Mr Sapana Pradhan Malla, MP (Nepal) Dr Roshanak Wardak, MP (Afghanistan)
13.00 - 14.30	Lunch
14.30	Session 2 continues
15.00	<b>Session 3: The Economic and Development Challenges of HIV</b> <i>Chair: Mr Ross Robertson, MP (New Zealand)</i>
	<ul><li>Migration and human trafficking</li><li>The economic costs of HIV</li></ul>
	Mr Sarat Das, Chief of Mission, International Organization for Migration Dr Jyoti Sangera – Deputy Representative, OHCHR Dr Shankar Sharma – Development Economist (Nepal) Mr Kent Olsson, MP (Sweden) Ms Tehmina Daultana, MP (Pakistan)
16.00 - 16.15	Tea/Coffee Break
16.15 – 17.00	Session 3 continues

# 18.00Dinner for international participants at Hotel Yak and Yeti, Durbarmarg<br/>Hosted by the Legislature-Parliament of Nepal

### Thursday, 26 February

09.30 - 11.00	Session 4: Prevention Strategies for Most-at-Risk Groups and Vulnerable
	Groups
	Chair: Ms Khushubakht Shujaat, MP (Pakistan)

	<ul> <li>Prevention strategies in the context of a concentrated epidemic – towards Universal Access</li> <li>Prevention of HIV amongst women and children</li> <li>Improving sexual health and STI clinics</li> </ul>
	Dr Geeta Sethi – Manager, Asia Pacific Leadership Forum (APLF), UNAIDS Dr Arzu Rana Deuba, MP (Nepal) Ms Yasmeen Rehman, MP (Pakistan) Dr Salah Ali Abdulrahman, MP (Bahrain)
11.00 - 11.15	Tea/Coffee Break
11.15	Session 4 continues
11.45 – 13.00	<b>Session 5: A Multi-Sectoral Approach to the Pandemic</b> <i>Chair: Professor Dr M Amanullah, MP (Bangladesh)</i>
	<ul> <li>Multi-sectoral approaches in other countries</li> <li>Nepal's National HIV/AIDS Control Board</li> </ul>
	Dr Sharad Onta – CEO, National HIV/AIDS and STI Control Board (Nepal) Dr Prakash Sharan Mahat, MP (Nepal) Ms Ruth Tuma, MP (Uganda)
13.00 - 14.30	Lunch
14.30	Session 5 continues
15.30 - 15.45	Tea/Coffee Break
15.45	<b>Session 6: Building on the Colombo Declaration</b> <i>Chair: Hon Nimal Siripala De Silva, Minister for Healthcare and Nutrition (Sri</i> <i>Lanka)</i>
	A panel of international MPs
16.30	Session 7: Conclusions and Adoption of Recommendations Chair: Shazia Rafi, PGA Secretary-General
	Vote of Thanks Hon Khimlal Devkota MP (Nepal)
17.30	Press conference
18.30	Traditional home dinner for international participants at Budhaniklanth Hosted by Mrs Prativa Rana, MP and Hon Dr Arzu R Deuba, MP

### Friday, 27 February

All Day Departures