Parliamentarians for Global Action

The Rule of Law and the Protection of Civilians: The Role of Legislators

Regional Parliamentary Conference for Arab States in cooperation with the Egyptian Council for Foreign Affairs with the support of the European Commission, European Union People's Assembly, Egypt

February 9-10, 2005

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT

<u>Algeria</u>

- 1. Mr. Hassan Araibi, MP Member, National Defense Committee
- 2. Mr. Abdelhafiz Aggoun, MP Rapporteur, Finance and Budget Committee

Bahrain

3. Mr. Hamad Khalil Al-Mohanadi, MP Chair, Legislative & Legal Affairs Committee

Belgium

4. Sen. Alain Destexhe Member, PGA Executive Board

Canada

5. Sen. Raynell Andreychuk Chair, Human Rights Committee

Egypt

- 6. H.E. Dr. Ahmad Fathi Sorour, MP Speaker of the People's Assembly, Egypt
- 7. Dr. Amin Mobarak, MP Chair, Industry and Energy Committee
- 8. Dr. Mohamed Saleh, MP Member, PGA International Council Member, Health and Environment Committee
- 9. H.E. Dr. Abdel Ahad Gamal El Din, MP Chair, Human Rights Committee

- 10. H.E. Dr. Moustafa El-Feki, MP Chair, Foreign Affairs Committee
- 11. H.E. General Saad Elgammal, MP Deputy-Chair, Defense Committee
- 12. Ms. Nariman El Daramally, MP
- 13. Sen. Mahmoud Maroof

European Parliament

14. Mr. Harlem Desir, MEP (France) Member, Committee on Employment and Social Affairs

- 15. Ms. Emma Bonino, MEP (Italy) Member, Committee on Foreign Affairs
- 16. Ms. Karen Scheele, MEP (Austria)

 Committee on the Environment, Public Health and
 Food Safety

Germany

17. Dr. Herta Daubler-Gmelin, MP Former Federal Minister of Justice

Ghana

18. Mr. Kenneth Dzirasah, MP *President of PGA*

<u>Iordan</u>

19. Dr. Ra'ed K. Qaqish, MP Member, PGA International Council Chair, Education, Culture, and Youth Committee

- 20. Mr. Mohamed Arsalan, MP
- 21. Mr. Mustafa Amawi, MP
- 22. Mr. Mustafa Jadaiah, MP
- 23. Mr. Atef Tarawneh, MP

Lebanon

24. Dr. Ghinwa Jalloul, MP Member, Women and Children Committee

25. Dr. Ghattas Khoury, MP Member, Agriculture and Tourism Committee

Morocco

- 26. Ms. Fatima Belmoudenne, MP
- 27. Ms. Fatoum Kodama, MP
- 28. Ms. Amina Ouchleh, MP
- 29. Mr. Mohamed Oudor, MP
- 30. Ms. Bouchra El-Khyari, MP
- 31. Ms. Fawzia Oulgor, MP
- 32. Ms. Naima Khaldoun, MP Deputy-Chair, Justice & Legislation Committee

Netherlands

33. Ms. Farah Karimi MP Foreign Affairs Committee

Tunisia

34. Dep. Mohamed Aouini
President, Legislative Affairs Committee

35. Dep. Taher Kamoun President of the Tunisian Bar Association

Yemen

36. Mr. Shawki Al-Kadi, MP Member, Committee on Human Rights and Public Freedoms

37. Mr. Sultan Al-Atwani, MP

Member, Committee on Human Rights and Public Freedoms

38. Mr. Mohamed Al-Alimi, MP Vice-Chair, Committee on Human Rights and Public Freedoms

39. Mr. Khaled Miasar, MP

Venezuela (Andean Parliament)

- 40. Dip. Luis Diaz Laplace
- 41. Dip. Mario Arias Salas
- 42. Dip. Adela Munoz de Liendo
- 43. Dip. Jhanett Maria Madriz Vice President, Andean Parliament

SPECIAL GUESTS AND EXPERTS

- 44. H.E. Amat Al-Aleem Al-Soswa (Yemen) Minister of Human Rights of Yemen
- 45. Judge Hatem Fouad Aly Resident Representative in Afghanistan, International Institute of Higher Studies in Criminal Sciences (ISISC); Siracusa
- 46. Mr. Chérif Atlam
 International Committee of the Red Cross
 (ICRC), Regional coordinator for the advisory
 service on International Humanitarian Law in
 Middle East and North Africa
- 47. Professor M. Cherif Bassiouni
 President, International Human Rights Law
 Institute (IHRLI), DePaul University
 College of Law; Presidente, Istituto Superiore
 Internazionale di Scienze Criminali (ISISC),
 Siracusa
- **48.** H.E. Dr. Abdul Azim Wazir, Governor of the State of Cairo
- 49. Professor Mona Makram Ebeid American University in Cairo
- 50. Mr. Oliver Nette

Counsellor, Delegation of the European Union to Egypt

51. H.E. Tahani El-Gibali Judge, Supreme Court of Egypt

52. Mr. Antonio Vigilante Resident Representative, UNDP Egypt

54. Ms. Amal Basha (Yemen) Regional Coodinator, Coalition for the International Criminal Court (CICC)

Egyptian Council for Foreign Affairs

56. H.E. Ambassador Ahmed Tawfik Khalil, LLD

Former Permanent Representative to the UN

53. H.E. Ambassador Mohamed I. Shaker Vice Chairman, ECFA Egypt's former ambassador to the UK

54. Dr. Yehia El Gamal *Professor of Law, Cairo University*

55. H.E. Ambassador Issam El Din Hawwas

Consultant Attorney, Legal and International Affairs

56. Prof. Aisha Rateb, LLD Professor of International Law, Cairo University

57. Mr. Mohamed Hassouna, LLD Lawyer at Hassouna-Abouali Law Office

58. Prof. Mohamed Said El Dakkak, LLD Vice President, Alexandria University

59. Prof. Nabil Hilmy, LLD Dean of the Faculty of Law, Zagazig University

60. Dr. Nihal Fahmy, PhD Professor at large, Int'l Organizations and NGOs

OBSERVERS

61. Mr. Gérard Peytrignet Head of the ICRC Delegation in Cairo

62. Ms. Nehad Abul Komsan Executive Director, Egyptian Center for Women's

63. Mr. Hafez Abu Seada Secretary General, Egyptian Organization for Human Rights

64. Mr. Fateh Azzam

American University in Cairo

Rights

65. Mr. Nasser Amin Arab Center for the Independence of the Judiciary and the Legal Profession

66. Ms. Sara Carr Egyptian Organization for Human Rights

67. H.E. Mr. Ahmed Esmat Abdel Meguid Former Secretary-General, League of Arab States

68. Mr. Bahey El Din Hassan Chair, Cairo Institute for Human Rights

69. Mr. Amin El Sharkawi Assistant Resident Representative UNDP Egypt

70. Mr. Oliver Fixson
Counsellor, Embassy of Germany to Egypt

71. Dr. Barbara Harrell Bond American University in Cairo

72. Mr. Carl Richter
Embassy of the Netherlands to Egypt

73. Mr. Haggag Ahmed Mahmoud Nail Arab Program for Human Rights Activists

74. Mr. Abd El Basset El Salmi Ministry of Human Rights of Yemen

75. Mr. Sadek El Nebhani Ministry of Justice of Yemen

76. H.E. Abdul Aziz Al-Kumain Ambassador of Yemen in Egypt

European Commission, European Union

77. Mr. Nicola Bellomo

Delegation of the European Commission in Egypt

78. Mr. Jerome Bellion Jourdan

Delegation of the European Commission in Egypt

79. Ms. Donata Maccelli

Team leader, EC identification mission (Human Rights/Governance)

80. Ms. Sherin Saadallah

Senior Expert, EC identification mission

81. Mr. Andrea Stroppiana

Senior Expert, EC identification mission

Parliament Staff

82. Mr. Ashraf Mostafa Abdel Wahab

Chief of the Protocol Office, People's Assembly

PGA Staff

83. Ms. Samar Al-Bulushi

Programme Associate, Int. Law & Human Rights

84. Dr. David Donat Cattin

Legal Advisor and European Coordinator

85. Mr. Peter Barcroft

Programme Officer, Int. Law and Human Rights

86. Mr. Abdel Rahim Mostafa

Interpreter

87. Ms. Mara Dehmer (Germany)

Intern