PARLIAMENTARIANS FOR GLOBAL ACTION

SUB-REGIONAL PARLIAMENTARY SEMINAR ON HIV/AIDS IN SOUTH ASIA

Held

In collaboration with National Assembly and Senate of Pakistan On January 14-15, 2005

At Serena-Islamabad Hotel Islamabad, Pakistan

With Kind Support From:

The UN Foundation, World Health Organisation (WHO), UNFPA Governments of the United Kingdom, Australia, Canada & Switzerland

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

Parliamentary Participants

Australia

Mr. Michael Johnson, MP

Chairman, Population & Development Committee

Bangladesh

Dr. Muhammad Ali, MP

Lt. Col. (retd) Faruk Khan, MP

Dr. Shamsul Alam Pramanik, MP

Chair, Committee on Ministry of Education

Mr. Mohammad Ruhul Quaddus, MP

Barrister Ziaur Rahman Khan, MP

Chair, Parliamentary Committee on Foreign Affairs

Mr. Manzur Quader, MP

Dr. Muhammad Abdur Razzaque, MP

Mr. Abdus Shahid, MP

Chief Whip of the Opposition

Dr. Hamida Banu Shoba, MP

Mr. Zahir Uddin Swapon, MP

Secretary General, Bangladesh Parliament Members' Support Group (BPMSF) on Prevention of HIV/AIDS and Human Trafficking

Denmark_

Mr. Anders Møller, MP Member, Health Committee

Ghana

Hon. Kenneth Dzirasah Second Deputy Speaker President of PGA

India

Mrs. Prema Cariappa

Member, External Affairs Committee

Mrs. N.P. Durga, MP

Mrs. Vanga Geetha, MP

Dr. Manda Jagannath, MP

Member, Committees on Health & Family Welfare, Public Accounts Committee, Committee on Water Resources

Dr. Vallabhbhai Kathiria, MP

Former Minister of State for Health

Mr. K.B. Krishnamurthy, MP

Member, Consultative Committee for the Ministry of Defense, Committee on Transport and Tourism, Committee on Government Assurances

Mrs Alka Balram Kshatriya, MP

Mr. P.K. Maheshwari, MP

Member, Committee on Industry

Dr. Mahendra Prasad, MP

Member, Governing Body of the Indian Council of Medical Research

Mr. Chandrashekar Reddy, MP

Mr. Jesudas Sheelam, MP

Co-Chair, Parliamentary Caucus on HIV/AIDS

Malaysia

Dr. Junaidy bin Abdul Wahab, MP

Deputy Chair, Committee on Health

Nepal

Ms. Maiya Devi Shrestha

Chair, Women's Caucus

Ms. Shrimaya Thakali

Member, Women's Caucus

Hon. Chitra Lekha Yadav

Former Deputy Speaker, House of Representatives

New Zealand

Hon. Ross Robertson, MP

Assistant Speaker

Member of the Commerce Committee and Education and Science Committee

Pakistan

Mr. Aitzaz Ahsan, MP

Mr. Hamidulla Jan Afridi, MP

Dr. Donya Aziz, MP

Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Population Welfare

Dr. Hajra Tariq Aziz, MP

Ms. Tehmina Daultana, MP

Mr. Riaz Fatyana, MP

Dr. Attiya Inayatullah, MP

Ms. Riffat Javaid, MP

Mr. Akhtar Khan Kanju, MP

Hon. Muhammad Nasir Khan.

Federal Minister of Health

Sen. Tariq Azeem Khan

Mr. Aslam Malik, MP

Sen. Nisar A. Memon

Dr. Noor Jehan Panezai, MP

Member, Health Committee

Parliamentary Host of the Conference

Sen. Kalsoom Payween

Mr. Naveed Qamar, MP

Parliamentary Host of the Conference

Sen. Reza Rabbani

Leader of the Opposition

Ms. Mehnaz Raffi, MP

Hon. Khalil-ur-Rehman,

Acting Chairman of the Senate

Ms. Sherry Rehman, MP

Sen Dr Abdullah Riar

Hon. Shehnaz Sheikh, MP,

State Minister for Health

Mr. Gian Chand Singh, MP

Sen. Bibi Yasmeen Shah

Senegal

Dep. Lamine Thiam,

First Vice-president of the Health Commission

Sri Lanka

Hon, Mr. Hussein A Bhaila

Deputy Minister of Small & Medium Enterprise Development

Hon. M I Anver Ismail

Deputy Minister of Infrastructure Development in the Eastern Province

Hon. Mrs Privanee Wijesekera

Secretary General of Parliament

Switzerland

Ms. Therese Froesch, MP

Member, Finance Committee

Thailand

Dr. Malinee Sukavejworakit, MP

Member, Committee on Public Health, Committee on Foreign Affairs

Uganda

Dr. Elioda Tumwesigye, MP

Chair. Committee on HIV/AIDS

United Kingdom

Mr. Tony Worthington, MP

SPEAKERS AND HONORARY GUESTS

H.E. Shaukat Aziz

Prime Minister of Pakistan

H.E. Dr. Nafis Sadik

Special Envoy of the UN Secretary General for HIV/AIDS in Asia

H.E. Amb. Zorica McCarthy

High Commissioner of Australia to Pakistan

H.E. Mr. Denis Feldmeyer

Ambassador of Switzerland to Pakistan

Dr. Aldo Landi

Country Director, UNAIDS/Pakistan

Dr. Mohammed Khurshid

Dean, Aga Khan University Medical College

Mrs. Marina Mahathir

President, Malaysian AIDS Council, Vice-President, AIDS Society of Asia and the Pacific (ASAP)

Mr. Salman Ahmad

Good-Will Ambassador for HIV/AIDS, Leader of Junoon Band

Mr. Gareth Aicken

Head, Department for International Development (DFID)-UK (Pakistan)

Ms. Margaret Alva

Adviser, Bureau of Parliamentary Studies and Training (India)

Dr. Asma Bokhari

National Programme Manager, AIDS Control Programme (Pakistan)

Dr Ying-Ru Lo

Medical Officer (AIDS), World Health Organization

Mrs. Mahdu Bala Nath

Regional Director for South Asia, International Planned Parenthood Foundation (IPPF)

Mr. Imran Rizvi

Director, AMAL Human Development Network

Dr. (Mrs) Sujatha Samarakoon

STD/AIDS Control Programme (Sri Lanka)

Prof. Elliot L. Tepper

Professor at Carleton University (Canada)

PARLIAMENT STAFF, GOVERNMENT AND CIVIL SOCIETY

Mrs. Norazah Abdullah

Observer, Malaysia

Mr. Mohammad Arshad Gill,

National Programme Officer Swiss Development Corporation (SDC)

Mr. Asad Aleem

Programme Officer, Asian Development Bank

Dr. A Hamid Bhatti

Executive Member, AIDS Prevention Association of Pakistan (APAP)

Mr. Syed Hasan Murtaza Bokhari

Section Officer, Association of Asian Parliaments for Peace (AAPP)

Mr. Muhammad Awais Dreshak

National Consultant, Leadership in Political Advocacy, UNAIDS

Dr. Haji Muhammad Hanif

General Secretary,

AIDS Prevention Association of Pakistan (APAP)

Dr. Inaam ul Haq

Senior Health Specialist, The World Bank

Dr. Samia Hashim

Senior National Programme Officer, UNAIDS

Dr. Emma Hooper

Poverty & Macro Economic Specialist, ADB

Mr. Tim Zahid Hossain,

Policy Advisor, BPMSG (Bangladesh)

Ms. Raza Hussnain

AMAL Human Development Network

Mr Weseem Iqbal Ch.

Section Officer, National Assembly Secretariat

Mr. Ali Imran Jaffery

Executive Director, Alnoor Foundation (ANF)

Maj. General Z.A. Khan

Chair, Bangladesh Red Crescent Society

Ms. Najwa Malik

Senior Secretary, UNAIDS/Pakistan

Dr Asif Mirza

Director General, Program Operations Division Family Planning Association of Pakistan

Mr. Zainab Omar

AMAL Human Development Network

Dr Asiya Panezai

Mahec, Pakistan

Dr. Rashida Panezai

Mahec, Pakistan

Ms. Nighat Rizvi

AMAL Human Development Network

Mr. Daud Saglain

Senior Program Officer, ActionAid- Pakistan

Ms. Beltina Schunter,

UNICEF-Pakistan

Ms. Laila Sharfaraz

President, All Pakistan Women's Association

Mr. Kazi Abu Shahed,

Research Officer, BPMSG (Bangladesh)

Mr. Shishir Shill,

Policy Advisor, BPMSG (Bangladesh)

Ms. Sirimit Siripalp

Royal Thai Embassy (Pakistan)

Mr Akhter Hassan Siddiqui

Secretary to the Deputy Speaker and Chair of the BPMSG (Bangladesh)

Ms. Alia Tayeeb

Technical Consultant, AMAL Human Development Network

Dr. Muhammad Mushtaq Tahir,

President, AIDS Prevention Association of Pakistan

Mr. Shoaib Tayyab

Senior Program Manager

Australian Agency for International Development

Mr. Malik Ehsan Ullah

President, Al-falah Health Organization (AHO)

PGA STAFF & CONSULTANTS

Ms. Shazia Rafi

Secretary General

Mr. Michael Agbeko

Director of Finance and Administration

Ms. Anna Gekht

Programme Officer, Sustainable Development and Population Programme

Ms. Camellia Rodríguez-SackByrne

Consultant, Sustainable Development and Population Programme

Ms. Sarah Hyde

Consultant, Sustainable Development and Population Programme

Ms. Maha Rafi Atal

Representative, Brown University

Mr. Ghulam Heider

Photographer

Mr. Mohammad Manir Photographer