PARLIAMENTARIANS FOR GLOBAL ACTION

Seminar on Parliamentary Ethics and Accountability

In collaboration with the United States Senate the Senate of Poland and Transparency International

With support from: The Government of Sweden The European Commission, European Union

AGENDA

June 3-4, 2004 United States Senate Room SD-G11 Washington, D.C.

Thursday, June 3, 2004

Opening Ceremony 9:00 –9:30 a.m.

Welcoming remarks Ms. Shazia Rafi, Secretary-General, Parliamentarians for Global Action

Opening Address

Senator Tom Harkin (United States), Member, Appropriations Committee; Ranking Member, Senate Agriculture Committee; Ranking Member, Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Labor, Health, Human Services, and Education Senator Longin Pastusiak (Poland), President of the Senate Ms. Nancy Zucker-Boswell, Managing Director, Transparency International USA

Panel I – 9:30– 10:45 a.m. Values, ethical principles and code of conduct of the parliamentarians –

Abuse of religion, ethnicity and other divisions

Chair: Sen. Marcelo Lopez Arias (Argentina) First Vice-President, Senate

Panelists:

Rep. Dennis Kucinich (United States), Committee on Government Reform; Committee on Education and the Workforce*Dr. Mohamed Saleh*, MP (Egypt)*Rep. Christopher Shays* (United States), Committee on Government Reform; Committee on Financial Services

Mr. Fatmir Mediu, MP (Albania), Member, Foreign Relations Committee

Mr. Ronnie Bar-On, MP (Israel), Chairman, House Committee; Member, Constitution, Law and Justice Committee

Mr. Vinay Bhargava, Director, International Affairs Department, World Bank

Coffee Break 10:45-11:00 a.m.

Panel I – Discussion Session 11:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Luncheon 12:30 – 2:30 p.m. Capitol Hill Club 300 First Street, S.E., Third Floor

Honorary Speaker

Representative James Leach (United States), Chairman, Subcommittee on East Asia and the Pacific, International Relations Committee; Member, Financial Services Committee

Panel II - 3:00 - 5:00 p.m.

National Developments: local and international regulatory bodies and sanctions in different countries

Enforcement mechanisms Independence of the Judiciary

Chair: Mr. Tony Worthington, MP (United Kingdom), Member, Select Committee on International Development

Panelists:

Sen. Cesar Jauregui Robles (Mexico), Vice-President of the Senate
Mr. Ainars Latkovskis, MP (Latvia), Chairman, Committee on Supervising Prevention and Combating of Corruption, Contraband and Organised Crime
Dr. Pál Vastagh, MP (Hungary), President, Constitution and Justice Committee
Mr. Martin J. Fetherston, Assistant Director, Policy Development and Review Department, International Monetary Fund
Mr. Jocelyn Mason, Public Administration Reform Adviser, UNDP

Reception 7:00 p.m. Embassy of the Republic of Poland 2640 16th Street, NW

Hosted by H.E. Mr. Przemyslaw Grudzinski, Ambassador of the Republic of Poland to the United States

Friday, June 4, 2004

Panel III – 9:00 – 10:30 a.m. Campaign Finance Reform

Chair: Dip. Minou Tavarez Mirabal, MP (Dominican Republic)

Panelists:

Sen. Bassey Ewa-Henshaw (Nigeria), Chairman, Senate Committee on Employment, Labour and Productivity
 Mr. Miroslav Rozic, MP (Croatia), Member, Elections, Appointments and Administration Committee
 Mr. Atanas Paparizov, MP (Bulgaria), Vice-Chair, Committee on Economic Policy
 Mr. Daniel Khamasi, MP (Kenya)

Panel IV – 10:30 – 11:30 a.m. *Role of the Media*

Chair: Dip. Margarita Stolbizer, MP (Argentina), President, PGA International Council

Panelists:

Mr. Reha Denemec, MP (Turkey), Deputy Chair, AK Party *Mr. Robert Leventhal*, CEE Rule of Law Program Director/Anti-corruption Programs Coordinator, American Bar Association, Central European and Eurasian Law Initiative *Mr. Igor Barinov*, MP (Russia), Head, Subcommittee on legislative support of international cooperation of Russian Federation against terrorism and transnational organized crime *Dip. Minou Tavarez Mirabal*, MP (Dominican Republic)

Discussion and adoption of final declaration - 11:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.

Chair: Mr. Ross Robertson, MP (New Zealand), Assistant Speaker

Closing Remarks 12:30 - 1:00 p.m.

Senator Longin Pastusiak (Poland), President of the Senate