

PARLIAMENTARIANS FOR GLOBAL ACTION

Seminar on Parliamentary Ethics and Accountability

June 3-4, 2004 United States Senate Room SD-G11 Washington, D.C.

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

Members of Parliaments

<u>Albania</u>

Mr. Fatmir Mediu, MP Member, Foreign Relations Committee

Argentina

Sen. Marcelo Lopez Arias First Vice-President, Senate

Sen. Vilma Lidia Ibarra

Sen. María Cristina Perceval

Dip. Margarita Stolbizer, MP

<u>Azerbaijan</u>

Mr. Rafael B. Huseynov, MP Member, Standing Commission on Culture; Substitute member, Permanent Delegation of the Milli Mejlis to the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe

<u>Bulgaria</u>

Mr. Atanas Paparizov, MP Vice-Chair, Committee on Economic Policy

<u>Croatia</u>

Mr. Miroslav Rozic, MP Member, Elections, Appointments and Administration Committee

Dominican Republic Dip. Minou Tavarez Mirabal

Egypt Dr. Mohamed Saleh, MP

<u>Hungary</u> Dr. Pál Vastagh, MP

President, Constitution and Justice Committee

<u>Israel</u> Mr. Ronnie Bar-On, MP *Chairman, House Committee; Member, Constitution, Law and Justice Committee*

Jamaica Sen. Anthony Johnson

<u>Kazakhstan</u> Mr. Zeinula Makashev, MP *Committee on Legislation and Legal Reform*

Sen. Kabdigali Ahmetov Secretary, Committee on Legislation and Legal Reform

<u>Kenya</u> Mr. Daniel Khamasi, MP Assistant Deputy Speaker

<u>Latvia</u>

Mr. Ainars Latkovskis, MP Chairman, Committee on Supervising Prevention and Combating of Corruption, Contraband and Organised Crime

<u>Mexico</u> Sen. Cesar Jauregui Robles Vice-President of the Senate

<u>New Zealand</u> Mr. Ross Robertson, MP Assistant Speaker of Parliament

<u>Nigeria</u> Sen. Bassey Ewa-Henshaw *Chairman, Senate Committee on Employment, Labour and Productivity*

<u>Poland</u> Sen. Longin Pastusiak *President, Senate of Poland*

Sen. Zbigniew Jerzy Kulak Member, Rules, Ethics and Senate Affairs Committee

<u>Russian Federation</u>

Mr. Igor Barinov, MP Vice-Chair, Committee on Foreign Affairs

<u>Senegal</u> Dep. Mamadou Lamine Thiam *Committee on Finance*

Dep. Khalifa Abakar Sall

<u>Sweden</u> Mr. Kent Olsson, MP

<u>Turkey</u> Mr. Reha Denemec, MP *Deputy Chair, AK Party*

<u>Uganda</u> Ms. Beatrice Kiraso, MP *Chairperson, Budget Committee*

<u>United Kingdom</u> Mr. Tony Worthington, MP *Member, Select Committee on International Development*

<u>United States</u> Sen. Tom Harkin *Member, Committee on Appropriations*

Rep. Dennis Kucinich Committee on Government Reform; Committee on Education and the Workforce

Rep. James Leach Member, Committee on Financial Services; Member, Committee on International Relations

Rep. Donald Payne, Member, Sub-Committee on Africa

Rep. Christopher Shays Member, Committee on Government Reform

Zimbabwe Mr. Charles Majange, MP *Chair, Local Government Committee*

Ms. Priscilla Misihairabwi-Mushonga, MP Chairperson, Standing Committee on Public Accounts

NGOs, International Organizations, and Civil Society

Dr. Dan Becker Finance and Program Associate, American Bar Association, Latin American Legal Initiative Council

Mr. Ed Bethune Former Member of the United States House of Representatives Chairman, Ripon Educational Fund

Mr. Vinay Bhargava Director, International Affairs Department, World Bank Ms. Sabina Bhatia Public Affairs/External Relations Department, International Monetary Fund

Mr. Dieter Dettkebi Executive Director, Friedrich Ebert Foundation

Ms. Abby L. Davidson Associate Consultant, International Programs, Ethics Resource Center Ms. Randi Davis Technical Adviser, Democratic Governance Group, Bureau of Development Policy, United Nations Development Programme

Mr. Martin J. Fetherston Assistant Director, Policy Development and Review Department, International Monetary Fund

Ms. Jennifer Gauck Deputy Coordinator, Anti-Corruption Programs, American Bar Association

Mr. Robert Leventhal Director, Central European and Eurasian Law Initiative and Anti-Corruption Focal Area Coordinator American Bar Association

Mr. Mark Marek Director of the Washington Liaison Office, UNDP Ms. Jocelyn Mason Policy Adviser on Public Administration Reform, Bureau of Development Policy, United Nations Development Programme

Mr. Tarasio Navarrette Organisation of American States, former MP (Mexico)

Ms. Sabina Bhatia Deputy Division Chief, Public Affairs, External Relations Department, International Monetary Fund

Ms. Michaela Schrader Public Affairs Officer, Public Affairs, External Relations Department, International Monetary Fund

Ms. Nancy Zucker-Boswell Managing Director, Transparency International USA

Embassies Staff

Mr. Mariano Enrico Congressional Liaison, Embassy of Argentina to the United States of America

H.E. Ms. Elena Poptodorova *Ambassador of the Republic of Bulgaria to the United States of America*

H.E. Mr. Nabil Fahmy Ambassador of the Arab Republic of Egypt to the United States of America

PGA Staff

Ms. Shazia Rafi Secretary-General

Mr. Michael Agbeko Finance and Administration Officer

Dr. David Donat-Cattin Legal Advisor

Ms. Anna Gekht Programme Officer, Sustainable Development and Population Programme Ms. Nebiyat Woldemichael Programme Officer, Peace and Democracy Programme

Mr. Niklas Enander Junior Project Officer, Sustainable Development and Population Programme

Ms. Elizabeth Richardson *Consultant, PGA*

Mr. Joe Peoples Consultant, PGA photographer

Other Staff

Mr. Slawomir Bedkowski Security Officer, Office of the President of the Polish Senate

Ms. Nicole Chabanis Comprehensive Language Center

Mr. John Holliday Comprehensive Language Center

Mr. D. Jovonovic Interpreter, Comprehensive Language Center

Mr. Michael Kent Interpreter, Comprehensive Language Center Mr. Alexander Korolev Interpreter, Comprehensive Language Center

Ms. Nadia Korolev Interpreter, Comprehensive Language Center

Mr. Alfred Lawrence Interpreter, Comprehensive Language Center

Mr. Mario Major Comprehensive Language Center

Ms. Lily Olm Interpreter, Comprehensive Language Center