

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

March 23, 2017

Lord Donald Anderson

Mr. Mike Gapes, MP

Mr. Christopher Chope, MP

Rt. Hon. Michael Fallon, MP

Rt. Hon. Dominic Grieve, MP

Mr. Stewart Jackson, MP

President Dip. Margarita Stolbizer, Argentina

To the Members of the PGA UK National Group

Board

Dip. Ronny Monge Salas, Costa Rica Dep. Dieudonné Upira Sunguma, DR Congo Dip. Victor Orlando Bisonó, Dominican Republic Dip. Karina Sosa, El Salvador Ms. Barbara Lochbihler, MEP (Germany), European Parliament Ms. Ursula Owusu-Ekuful, MP, Ghana Shri Tariq Anwar, MP, India Mr. Kula Segaran, MP, Malaysia Mr. Su'a William Sio, MP, New Zealand Hon. Syed Naveed Qamar, MP, Pakistan Dep. Mamadou Lamine Thiam, Senegal Mr. Mark Pritchard, MP, United Kingdom

Treasurer

Ms. Petra Bayr, MP Austria

INTERNATIONAL COUNCIL Ms. Margareta Cederfelt, MP, Sweden

Councillors Mrs. Albana Vokshi, MP, Albania Dip. Cornelia Schmidt Liermann, Argentina Ms. Maria Vamvakinou, MP, Australia Dep. Jean Wyllys, Brazil Dep. Reine Benao Sakande, Burkina Faso Dep. José Manuel Sanches Tavares, Cape Verde Dep. Emilie Beatrice Epaye, Central African Republic Dip. Tucapel Jimenez, Chile Dip. Alirio Uribe Munoz, Colombia Dip. Marvin Atencio Delgado, Costa Rica Dep. Mariam Traore, Cote d'Ivoire Ms. Mette Gjerskov, MP, Denmark Sen. Julio Cesar Valentin, Dominican Republic Dip. Lorena Peña, El Salvador Ms. Ana Gomes, MEP (Portugal), European Parliament Mr. David Hennric Yeboah, MP. Ghana

> Mr. Worlea S. Dunah, MP, Liberia Mr. Dato' Seri Mohamed Nazri, MP, Malaysia Dep. Antonio Niquice, Mozambique Ms. Jacqui Dean, MP, New Zealand Sen. Chaudhary Aitzaz Ahsan, Pakistan Mr. Claude Kamanda, MP. Sierra Leone Mr. Nimal Siripala de Silva, MP, Sri Lanka Mr. Patrick Kensenhuis, MP, Suriname Hon, Jasson Rweikiza, Tanzania Sen. Wade Mark, Trinidad and Tobago Dr. Hryhoiyi Nemyria, MP, Ukraine Dip. Macarena Gelman, Uruguay Ms. Fungayi Jessie Majome, MP, Zimbabwe

Mr. Noel Grealish, MP, Ireland Ms. Lia Quartapelle, MP, Italy

> **SECRETARIAT** Secretary-General Dr. David Donat Cattin

NGO in general consultative status with the Economic and Social Council Mr. Mark Pritchard, MP (Chair) Rt. Hon. Tom Brake, MP Ms. Ash Denham. MP Lord George Foulkes Sir Edward Garnier, MP Lord John Hutton Rt. Hon. David Jones, MP Baroness Glenys Kinnock Baroness Sarah Ludford Baroness Joyce Quin Rt. Hon. Angus Robertson, MP

Mr. Graham Jones, MP Mr. Ian Liddell-Grainger, MP Lord Purvis of Tweed Lord John Reid Lord Clive Stafford Soley Baroness Vivien Stern Mr. Graham Stuart, MP Mr. David Tredinnick. MP

Honourable Members:

The global network of Parliamentarians for Global Action (PGA), with over 1400 Members in 142 countries, expresses its profound sadness and solidarity with the innocent victims of the inhumane attack against the British Parliament yesterday.

PGA condemns, in the firmest possible way, this terrorist attack and other manifestations of violent extremism, which must be effectively fought and eradicated domestically and internationally.

As Prime Minister Theresa May stated, the "streets of Westminster – home to the world's oldest Parliament – are ingrained with a spirit of freedom that echoes in some of the furthest corners of the globe. And the values our Parliament represents – democracy. freedom, human rights, the rule of law - command the admiration and respect of free people everywhere."

Yesterday's event marked yet another attempt to undermine the values of democracy, freedom, human rights and the rule of law; values which PGA holds dear and which must be embraced by all civilized nations.

We look forward to continue to work together with you and all relevant British and Commonwealth Parliamentary institutions in advancing the common values and principles that underpin our open societies, including through PGA's new campaign to prevent and counter violent extremism.

Sincerely yours,

Dip. Margarita Stolbizer, MP (Argentina) President of Parliamentarians for Global Action (PGA)