

#### GLOBAL PARLIAMENTARY PLATFORM FOR THE ABOLITION OF THE DEATH PENALTY

### Parliamentary Roundtable and Consultations on Abolition of the Death Penalty

Parliament of Ghana | Auditorium Job 600 Accra, Ghana 4 March 2016

#### I. PROGRAMME

Friday 4 March Round-Table [Parliament of Ghana]

09:00-10:30 Opening of the Roundtable

H. E. Mr. François Pujolas, Ambassador of France in Ghana

Hon. Marietta Brew Appiah-Oppong, MP, Attorney General

**Dr. David Donat Cattin, Secretary General of PGA** 

Chairs: Hon. Ursula Owusu-Ekuful, MP (Ghana), Member of the PGA Executive Committee

Hon. Joe Ghartey, MP, Second Deputy Speaker, Parliament of Ghana

10:30-11:30 Situation of the death penalty in Ghana – Impact of the death penalty, relevant national and international legal frameworks

Hon. Ursula Owusu-Ekuful, MP (Ghana), Member of the PGA Executive Committee

Mr. Richard Quayson, Acting Commissioner, Ghanaian Commission on Human Rights and Administrative Justice (CHRAJ), Government of Ghana

Mr. Nana Tawiah Okyir, Lecturer, Faculty of Law, GIMPA and Former Researcher, Constitution Review Commission

Mr. Lawrence K. Amesu, Executive Director of Amnesty International Ghana

Mr. Cephas Komla Dzah, Former death row convict

Chair: Hon. Irene Naa Torshie Addo, MP (Ghana), Member of the PGA Executive Committee

Interactive Discussion

11:30-14:00 Towards the abolition of the death penalty - challenges to abolition (misconceptions, constitutional process), the role and contribution of Parliamentarians on the abolition of the death penalty





# Strategic Discussion on priority topics and Agreement on Strategies and Actions

Hon. Agnus Kofi Amoatey, MP (Ghana), Chair of the Committee on Constitutional, Legal, and Parliamentary Affairs, PGA Member

Hon. Jessie Majome, MP (Zimbabwe), PGA Member; Chair, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs Committee

Hon. Jason Samson Rweikiza, MP (Tanzania), PGA Member; Chair, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs Committee

Moderator: Dr. David Donat Cattin, Secretary General of PGA

13:00-14:00 *Lunch* 

# II - LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

# Members of Parliament

#### Ghana \*

- 1. **Hon. Ursula Owusu-Ekuful, MP**, PGA Board Member Committee on Appointments; Committee on Communications; Committee on Subsidiary Legislation
- 2. **Hon. Irene Naa Torshie Addo, MP**, PGA Member Committee on Gender and Children; Committee on Business; House Committee; Committee on Roads and Transports
- 3. **Hon. Joe Ghartey, MP**, Second Deputy Speaker
- 4. Hon. Grace Addo, MP
- 5. Hon. Agyemang Kwadwo Baah, MP
- 6. Hon. Racel Florence Appoh, MP
- 7. Hon. Ama Powaa Andoh, MP
- 8. Hon. Dr. Sagre Bambangi, MP
- 9. Hon. Hawa Koomson Mavis, MP, PGA Member
- 10. **Hon. Magnus Kofi Amoatey, MP**, PGA Member Chairperson, Committee on Constitutional, Legal and Parliamentary
- 11. **Hon. Laaoi Ayii Ayanba, MP**, PGA Member Chairperson, Committee on Gender and Children





- 12. **Hon. Mary Salifu Boforo, MP**, PGA Member Deputy Majority Whip, Chairperson of Women's Caucus
- 13. **Hon. Gifty Eugenia Kusi, MP**, PGA Member Ranking Member, Committee on Gender & Children and Health
- 14. Hon. Elizabeth Sackey, MP, PGA Member
- 15. Hon. Mohammed H. Tijani, MP
- 16. Hon. Patricia Appiagyei, MP
- 17. **Hon. Alexander Afenyo-Markin, MP**, PGA Member Committees on Defense & the Interior and Finance
- 18. Hon. Esther Obeng Dapaah, MP
- 19. Hon. Bernice Adiku Heloo, MP, PGA Member
- 20. **Hon. Henry Quartey, MP**Committee on Gender and Children
- 21. Hon. Wahab Wumbei Suhiyini, MP
- 22. Hon. Comfort Doyoe Cudjoe-Ghansah, MP, PGA Member
- 23. Hon. Justice Joe Appiah, MP, PGA Member
- 24. Hon. David Hennric Yeboah, MP, PGA Member
- 25. Hon. Matthew Nyindam, MP
- 26. Hon. Queenstar Pokuak Sawyerr
- 27. **Hon. Della Sowah, MP**, PGA Member Deputy Minister for Gender, Children and Social Protection
- 28. Hon. Mustapha Ussif
- 29. Hon. Mohammed Salisu Bamba
- 30. Hon. Tijani Habibu Mohammad
- 31. Hon. Anthony Osei Boakye, PGA Member
- 32. Hon. Abena Osei-Asare





### \* N.B.: Most Ghanaian MPs attended only certain Panels or segments of the programme

#### **Tanzania**

33. Hon. Jason Samson Rweikiza, MP

Chair, Committee on Administration and Local Governments

34. Hon. Dalaly Peter Kafumu, MP

Chair, Committee on Industry, Trade and Environment

35. Hon. Mary Machuche Mwanjelwa, MP [attended only opening session]

Chair, Committee on Lands, Natural Resources and Tourism; II Deputy Speaker

#### **Zimbabwe**

36. Hon. Jessie Majome, MP, PGA Member

Chair, Committee on Justice, Legal and Parliamentary Affairs

37. Hon. Jasmine Toffa, MP

Chair, Committee on Gender and Population

# Members of Government, the Judiciary and Statutory Bodies

- 38. Hon Mariette Brew Appiah-Oppong, Attorney General and Minister of Justice of Ghana
- 39. **Mr. Richard Quayson**, Acting Commissioner, Ghanaian Commission on human rights and administrative justice (CHRAJ)

# **Diplomatic Community, Regional and International Organizations**

### France

40. H.E. Mr. François Pujolas

Ambassador of France in Ghana

41. H.E. Pierre-Yves Kervennal

Development and Governance Advisor, Embassy of France in Ghana

# **Germany**

42. Mr. Jdienne Alagbo

Assistant, Embassy of Germany in Ghana

# **Netherlands**

43. Mr. Jan Alderliesten

Counsellor, Embassy of the Netherlands in Ghana

# **Switzerland**

44. H.E. Mr. Gerhard Brügger

Ambassador of Switzerland in Ghana





#### 45. Mr. David Metz

Academic Intern, Embassy of Switzerland in Ghana

#### <u>Italy</u>

#### 46. H.E. Ms. Laura Carpini

Ambassador of Italy in Ghana

# Academia, Press, Non-Governmental Organizations and Civil Society

- 47. Mr. Lawrence K. Amesu, Executive Director of Amnesty International Ghana
- 48. Mr. Michael Baabu, Save the Children
- 49. Mr. Cephas Komla Dzah, Former death row convict
- 50. Ms. Nermice Naah, Amnesty International Ghana
- 51. **Daphne Lariba Nabila**, Executive Director, Legal Resources Center
- 52. **Mr. Nana Tawiah Okyir**, Faculty of Law, GIMPA and Former Researcher, Constitution Review Commission
- 53. Ms. Annalisa Caparello, Child Specialist, UNICEF
- 54. Julia Damalie- Korsah, Executive Director, ACAT Ghana
- 55. Mr. Evans Ameng, Research Department
- 56. Mr. Abdulai Muttaw, Research Department
- 57. Mr. Ratik Kobilla Adam, Research
- 58. Mr. Geofry Adraku, Front Desk Office
- 59. Ms. Sandra Owusu Peprah, Population Caucus Secretariat
- 60. Ms. Priscilla Yeboaa. Population Caucus Secretariat
- 61. Ms. Charlotte Okai, Population Caucus Secretariat
- 62. Mr. Emmanuel Osei Cruamgi, Research
- 63. Ms. Gifty Ekuban, Assistant Research
- 64. Mr. Anning Kuffour Numako, Official Reporter, Hansard Department





- 65. Ms. Ruth Efua Gaisie, Reporter, Hansard Department
- 66. Ms. Anastasia Nedeu, Public Affairs Department

#### **PGA Secretariat**

- 67. Dr. David Donat Cattin, Secretary-General
- 68. **Ms. Maia Trujillo**, Senior Programme Officer, International Law and Human Rights Programme, Officer in Charge, Campaign for the Abolition of the Death Penalty
- 69. Ms. Holly Sarkissian, Senior Development Officer

THE PGA PARLIAMENTARY PLATFORM AND TARGETED CAMPAIGNS FOR THE ABOLITION OF THE DEATH PENALTY RECEIVES SUPPORT AND COLLABORATION FROM THE UNITED KINGDOM, FOREIGN AND COMMONWEALTH OFFICE.

More information on PGA Parliamentary Platform and Campaign for the Abolition of the Death Penalty: http://www.pgaction.org/campaigns/abolition-of-the-death-penalty.html

Contact: holly.sarkissian@pgaction.org