





## Seminar on Equality and Non-Discrimination based on SOGI for Latin American and Caribbean Parliamentarians

# Parliament of Uruguay, Montevideo Conference room Acuña de Figueroa

Monday, 11 July 2016 9:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.

#### LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

#### Members of Parliament

Aruba

Ms. Desirée de Sousa-Croes, MP Chairwoman, Committee on Judicial Affairs, Integration and Petitions

**Bolivia** 

Sen. Maria Lourdes Landivar Tufiño

Belize

Sen. Valerie Woods

Costa Rica

Dip. Ronny Monge Salas Legislative Assembly Chair, Committee on Security and Drug Trafficking

Dominican Republic

Dip. Minou Tavárez

PGA President

Republic of the Seychelles

Hon. Lenny Lebon Member of Parliament

Suriname

Mr. Patrick Kensenhuis, MP Chair, PGA National Group

Trinidad and Tobago

Sen. Wade Mark

Leader of Opposition Business

Uruguay

Dip. Berta Sanseverino

Chair, Committee on Human Rights

PGA Board member and Co-Convenor, Gender, Equality

and Population Programme

Sen. Eva Gomori

Dip. Macarena Gelman

Dip. Gloria Rodríguez

PGA Member

Dip. Daniel Radío PGA Member

Dip. Estefanía Squiavone

Dip. Gimena Urta

President of the Commission on Human Rights

and Social Development Municipality of Montevideo

Government Officials and Inter-Governmental **Organizations** 

Ms. Victoria Kuczer

Human Rights Officer

Human Rights and Indigenous Issues Section

Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

Australia

Mr. Douglas Janoff

Senior Policy Adviser for Global Affairs

Canada

Dr. Justin Pettit

Human Rights Officer

Commonwealth Secretariat







Mr. Gary Rhoda Human Rights Officer Commonwealth Secretariat

Ms. Eleanor Paton Human Rights Project Assistant Commonwealth Secretariat

Commissioner Francisco José Eguiguren Praeli Rapporteur on the Rights of LGBTI Persons Inter-American Commission on Human Rights

Ms. Mariel Ortega Inter-American Commission on Human Rights

Mr. Michael van Gelderen Human Rights Officer Thematic Engagement, Special Procedures and Right to Development Division Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights

Amb. Kees van Baar Human Rights Ambassador Ministry of Foreign Affairs Kingdom of the Netherlands

Ms. Suki Beavers Policy Advisor, Inclusive Political Processes Bureau for Policy and Programme Support United Nations Development Programme

Mr. Cliff Cortez Cluster Manager, UNAIDS Partnerships Bureau for Policy and Programme Support United Nations Development Programme

Mr. Edmund Settle Policy Advisor United Nations Development Programme

Ms. Paula Veronelli Head of Policy Unit Programme United Nations Development Programme

Ms. Virginia Varela Programme Analyst, Uruguay United Nations Development Programme Amb. Laura Dupuy Director General for Technical and Administrative Affairs Ministry of Foreign Affairs Uruguay

Dr. Ariela Peralta President of the National Human Rights Institution and Ombudsman Uruguay

Dr. Soledad García Muñoz Regional Coordinator of the Inter-American Institute of Human Rights Uruguay

Mr. Federico Graña National Direction of Sociocultural Promotion Ministry of Social Development Uruguay

Mr. Kerry Ashforth Programme Officer US Department of State

#### Academia and Civil Society Organizations

Mariana Winocur Communications Officer ARC International

Caleb Orozco
Executive Director
United Belize Advocacy Movement (UniBAM)
Belize

Natasha Jiménez Mata Director, Mulabi/Espacio Latinoamericano de Sexualidades y Derechos Costa Rica

Rosanna Marzan Diversidad Dominicana Dominican Republic

Graeme Reid Director, Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Rights Program Human Rights Watch







Renato Sabbadini Executive Director, ILGA Geneva, Switzerland

Monica Tabengwa Executive Director Pan-African, ILGA

Johana Esmeralda Ramírez Otrans Guatemala

Dane Lewis Director, J-Flag Jamaica

Génesis Rafael López Ramírez General Coordinator Colectivo Hombres XX Mexico

Jessica Stern Executive Director OutRight Action International

Kenita Placide LGBTI Activist St. Lucia

Colin Robinson
Executive Director
CAISO making sexual and gender diversity part of
Trinidad & Tobago's national identity &
Secretariat CariFLAGS: the Caribbean Forum for
Liberation and Acceptance of Genders &
Sexualities
Trinidad and Tobago

María Laura Blendo BBF Uruguay

Cecilia Michelini Zelmar Michelin Foundation Uruguay

Felipe Michelini Former Uruguayan Legislator & PGA Board member José María Romero Llamale H Uruguay

Federico Nola Movimiento Daniel Zamudio Uruguay

Magdalena Mathou Movimiento Daniel Zamudio Uruguay

Monica Alvarez Movimiento Daniel Zamudio Uruguay

Mauricio Coitiño Ovejas Negras Uruguay

Andrea Maddelena Partido Colorado Uruguay

Yvette Gomez Perfiles LGBT Uruguay

Dr. Diana González-Perrett Researcher and Legal Advisor in Human Rights Uruguay

Rodrigo Falcón Trans Boys Uruguay Uruguay

Collette Spinetta Unión Trans del Uruguay Uruguay

Tina Maria Pucheu Unión Trans del Uruguay Uruguay

Daniel Conde School of Psychology Universidad de la República Uruguay

José Zamora Venezuela Diversa





## Private Philanthropy

Adrian Coman International Human Rights Program Director Arcus Foundation

Maxim Anmeghichean Programme Officer, Human Rights Initiative Open Society Foundation

Addison Smith Programme Officer Wellspring Advisors

### **PGA Staff**

Jennifer McCarthy Deputy Secretary-General

Mónica Adame Programme Director Gender, Equality and Population Programme

Francisco Berreta Programme Officer Gender, Equality and Population Programme