



Parliamentary Seminar on Combating Early and Forced Marriage

La Palm Royal Beach Hotel

Accra, Ghana

March 3-4, 2014

With the financial support of

Department of Foreign Affairs, International Trade and Development Canada The John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation

List of Participants MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT

<u>Ghana</u>

Hon. Ebo Barton Oduro, MP First Deputy Speaker Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Irene Torshie Naa Addo, MP First Deputy Minority Whip, Parliament of Ghana, PGA Executive Committee Hon. Albin Sumana Bagbin, MP Parliament of Ghana, Chair, PGA Ghana National Group

Hon. Gershon Gbediame, MP Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, MP Minority Leader, Parliament of Ghana Hon. Dominic Nitiwul, MP Deputy Minority Leader, Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Benjamin Kunbuor, MP Majority Leader, Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Gifty Kusi, MP Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Abdul Rashid Pelpuo, MP Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Juliana Azumah Mensah, MP Former Minister of Women and Children, Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Bernice Heloo Adiku, MP Parliament of Ghana Hon. Helen Ajoa Ntoso, MP Parliament of Ghana

Hon. George Loh, MP Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Esther Obeng Dapaah, MP Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Alfred Kwame Agbesi, MP Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Afenyo Markin, MP Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Hennric David Yeboah, MP Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Emmanuel Kyeremanteng Agyarko, MP Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Matthew Opoku Prempeh, MP Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Joseph Osei-Owusu, MP Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Dr. Stephen Nana Ato Arthur, MP Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Mahama Ayariga, MP Parliament of Ghana

Dr. Richard Anane, MP Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Joseph Yieleh Chireh, MP Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Ibrahim Murtala Mohammed, MP Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Daniel Botwe, MP Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Ignatius Baffour Awuah, MP Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Samuel Atta Akyea, MP Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Emmanuel Bedzrah, MP Parliament of Ghana Hon. Kobena Mensah Woyome, MP Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Albert Abongo, MP Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Ahmed Ibrahim, MP Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Mohammed Mubarak Muntaka, MP Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Joseph Osei-Owusu, MP Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Ursula Owusu, MP Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Kwasi Agyemang Gyan-Tutu, MP Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Comfort Doyoe Ghansah Cudjoe, MP Parliament of Ghana

Dr. Ahmed Mustapha, MP Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Mary Boforo, MP Parliament of Ghana

Hon. Moses Anim, MP Parliament of Ghana

<u>Kenya</u>

Dr. Susan Chebet, MP Parliament of Kenya

Liberia

Hon. Clarice Jah, Senator Senate of Liberia

Sierra Leone

Dr. Bernadette Lahai, MP Parliament of Sierra Leone

<u>Tanzania</u>

Hon. Pindi Chana, MP Deputy Minister for Community Development, Gender and Children, Parliament of Tanzania

Zimbabwe

Hon. Jessie Majome, MP Parliament of Zimbabwe

GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS & DIPLOMATIC CORPS

Hon. Nana Oye Lithur Minister of Gender, Children and Social Protection

Mr. Richard Quayson Deputy Commissioner, Commission on Human Rights and Administrative Justice

Mr. Clement Kwaku Kpegah, District Director, Commission Human Rights Administrative Justice (Nkwanta South)

Ms. Dinah Adiko Ministry of Gender and Social Protection, Domestic Violence Secretariat

ASP Haleema Boakye Head Officer, Domestic Violence and Victim Support Unit, Ghana Police Service

<u>Canada</u>

Ms. Diedrah Kelly Charge d' Affaires, Senior Political Counsellor, High Commission for Canada to the Republic of Ghana

Mr. Michael Creighton Second Secretary (Development), High Commission for Canada to the Republic of Ghana

The Netherlands

H.E. Hans Docter Ambassador of the Kingdom of the Netherlands to Ghana, Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands

Ms. Elsie Appau Policy Officer- WASH and Gender, Development Cooperation, Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands

UN AGENCIES & FOUNDATIONS

Ms. Johanna Eriksson Chief, Child Protection Specialist, UNICEF Ghana

Ms. Jody Myrum Manager, Initiatives for Girls and Women, Novo Foundation

Mr. Friday Okonofua Program Officer, Ford Foundation Mr. Nguru Karugu Open Society Initiatives for Eastern Africa (OSIEA)

Ms. Jaki Mbogo Open Society Initiatives for Eastern Africa (OSIEA)

Ms. Angela Dwamena Aboagye Executive Director, The Ark Foundation

ACADEMIA & NON-GOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATIONS

Professor Fred Sai, M.P.H Ghana Ms. Ellen Travers Program Officer, Girls Not Brides Mr. Birima Fall TOSTAN

Dr. Wale Okediran Former MP, Consultant to the Committee on Health Senate of Nigeria

Ms. Christine Achieng Assistant Country Director-Program Quality, CARE International in Ghana

Ms. Gifty Blekpe CARE International in Ghana

Ms. Dorcas Appiah-Coker Gender Centre

Mr. Sumaila Abdul-Rahman Director, ActionAid International

Mr. James Kofi Annan President, Challenging Heights Reverend Daniel Sakitey Christian Council

Ms. Joyce Steiner Christian Council

Mr. Sheik Salman Muslim Council

Ms. Abigail Burgesson African Women's Development Fund

Mrs. Charlotte Osei Chairman, National Commission for Civic Education

Mr. Samuel Akuamoah Project Coordinator, National Commission for Civic Education

PARLIAMENTARY STAFF & ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

Mr. Samuel Addei, Clerk Parliament of Ghana

Ms. Judy Aikins Research Parliament of Ghana

Mr. Emmanuel Koranteng Protocol Parliament of Ghana

Ms. Margaret Donkor Media Parliament of Ghana

Mrs. Eva Adjei-Emenike Name tags Parliament of Ghana

Mr. Harrison Edusei Transport Parliament of Ghana

Mr. Cephas Amevor Clerk Parliament of Ghana Ms. Anta Quartey-Papafio Deputy Coordinator Parliament of Ghana

Ms. Beatrice Essuman-Mensah Souvenirs Parliament of Ghana

Mr. Bonye J. Puopile Security Parliament of Ghana

Ms. Faustina Ayim Finance Parliament of Ghana

Ms. Bernice Sam Executive Director Women in Law and Development in Africa

Mr. Frank Bodza Program Officer Women in Law and Development in Africa

Ms. Esenam Ahiadorme Women in Law and Development in Africa Ms. Jennifer McCarthy Assistant Secretary General Parliamentarians for Global Action

Ms. Mónica Adame Senior Program Officer Gender, Equality and Population Program Parliamentarians for Global Action